Skip to main content

About Us

The Food Rescue Hero technology platform enables a scalable impact on food waste, food insecurity, and climate change.

Staff

Meet the team behind Food Rescue Hero

Meg Bernard

she/her
VP of Development
meg@foodrescuehero.org

Cory Clemente

he/him
Marketing Coordinator
cory@foodrescuehero.org

Sashah Li Crysler

they/them
Support Specialist
sashah@foodrescuehero.org

Victoria Della Rocca

she/her
Partnerships Lead
vdellarocca@foodrescuehero.org

Danielle Engelhaupt

she/her
Software QA Engineer
danielle@foodrescuehero.org

Jennifer England

she/they
Vice President of External Affairs
jen@foodrescuehero.org

Juan Fernandez

he/him
Junior Full Stack Developer
juan@foodrescuehero.org

Brad Fetchin

he/him
Vice President of Product
brad@foodrescuehero.org

Sean Hudson

he/him
Data & BI Analyst
sean@foodrescuehero.org

Ameesh Kapoor

he/him
Head of Engineering
ameesh@foodrescuehero.org

Usha Latha Pappala

she/her
QA Automation Engineer
usha@foodrescuehero.org

Tara McHenry

she/her
Grants Manager
tara@foodrescuehero.org

Jessica Parker

she/her
Junior Software Engineer
jessica@foodrescuehero.org

Karen Plate

she/her
Marketing Manager
karen@foodrescuehero.org

Hannah Ridge

she/her
Director of Partner Success
hannah@foodrescuehero.org

Jake Tepperman

he/him
Sr. Manager: Partner Success
jake@foodrescuehero.org

Chris Winters

he/him
Senior Software Engineer
cwinters@foodrescuehero.org

History

The staggering statistic that we waste up to 40% of our food supply while over 800 million are undernourished (UN) is an unacceptable disconnect.

According to the UN, we produce enough food to feed everyone who is food insecure four times over. Moreover, food waste is one of the leading causes of greenhouse gas emissions (FAO).

Food Rescue Hero rose out of a demand to respond to this challenge. The technology platform works to address waste at the retail segment of the supply chain, where approximately 40% of food waste occurs—approximately 25 million tons per year in the US (ReFed).

In 2016, the Food Rescue Hero platform was launched and piloted by 412 Food Rescue in Pittsburgh. In 2018, the technology began its first pilots outside of Pittsburgh via partners in San Francisco (Food Runners), Philadelphia (Philly Food Rescue) and Cleveland (Hunger Network Food Rescue). In 2020, it received Fast Company’s World Changing Ideas Award. In 2022, the network has expanded to 14 partners covering over 25 cities and reached 100 million pounds of food recovered.

Food Rescue Hero’s goal is to serve 100 cities by 2030, working with a food recovery network to contribute significantly to the UN Sustainable Development Goals by directly responding to SDG 12.3 Responsible Production and Consumption—reduce food waste by 50%, SDG 2 Zero Hunger, and SDG 13 Climate Action.

Food Rescue Hero has been featured on CNN, NPR, Stanford Social Innovation Review, The Washington Post, NowThis, US News & World Report, Martha Steward Living, among others.

News

Filter

Articles

Legislation, Lobbying & Leveraging Elected Officials for Food Rescue

Watch our March 2024 webinar:There are a few key reasons why knowing your elected officials…
Articles

Investing in Impact: The Unique Pitch for Funding Food Rescue

Watch our February 2024 webinar:Of all the good causes out there, why should funders, corporate,…
Press Release

Food Rescue Hero Announced as a Gold Winner in Sustainability, Environment and Climate for the 3rd Annual Anthem Awards.

Food Rescue Hero Announced as a Gold Winner in Sustainability, Environment and Climate for the 3rd Annual…

Awards

Board
Executive Committee

Beth Slagle, Chair

Counsel, Meyer Unkovic & Scott
LinkedIn: Beth Slagle

James Langton, Vice Chair

Director, Global Transaction Services, Bank of America
LinkedIn: James Langton

Andrew McKinley, Treasurer

Senior Manager | Tax Services, Ernst & Young LLP
LinkedIn: Andrew McKinley

Tony Macklin, Secretary

Principal, Tony Macklin Consulting
LinkedIn: Tony Macklin

Members

Brandon Dudt-Mulzet

VP Global Program Manager of Community Impact, BNY Mellon
LinkedIn: Brandon Dudt-Mulzet

Mary Beth Green

Chief Innovation Officer, Sheetz
LinkedIn: Mary Beth Green

Ralph Gross

Chief Scientist, Disruptive Robotics
LinkedIn: Ralph Gross

Jon Meck

Vice President of Marketin, Bounteous
LinkedIn: Jon Meck

Mercy Senchur

Chief Operating Officer, Eat’n Park Hospitality Group
LinkedIn: Mercy Senchur

Anna Siefken

Commercialization Executive, Office of Technology Transitions, US Department of Energy
LinkedIn: Anna Siefken

Technology Advisory Board

Julien Delange

Founder, Codiga
LinkedIn: Julien Delange

Ralph Gross

Chief Scientist, Disruptive Robotics
LinkedIn: Ralph Gross

Julia Poepping

Founder, Red Chair Pittsburgh
LinkedIn: Julie Poepping

Greg Hopkins

Principal Crafter, 8th Light
LinkedIn: Greg Hopkins

Sriram Palghat

Product Management, Argo AI
LinkedIn: Sriram Palghat